Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 6th, 2007

I attended the winter music concert for the local high school today.  The kids did an amazing job and I really enjoyed hearing the strings.  I love watching the bows bounce across the violin during a performance.  Plus the kids played a song called the Regal Overature and part of the song required them to pluck the violin strings.  The other sing titles I remember are Procession for a New Day and Brandenburg Concerto No. 3.  All nicely done. 

When I was at the school I got a chance to chat with a little five year old I formerly babysat and she graciously tried on my two finished Soley Granny Squares Hats for me.  I wanted to see if my sizing estimations were correct.  When she put the smaller hat on her head it was clearly too tight.  She looked up, then leaned close and whispered to me, “My head is too big”.  That little girl is still the cutest!  Unfortunetly I couldn’t get a photo as my batteries died on me.  

I must have taken too many pictures of these chairs from the band room.  I just thought the handwritten numbers were interesting.  The little purple message is also informative. 

I spent half of high school in Massachusetts and ‘yeat’, or for added emphasis ‘yeat da bun’, was a very popular swear word to write on school property.  The word was banned from school vernacular but it was inked on bathroom stalls, etched into wood desks and written anywhere else conceivably possible.  The origin and meaning of the word was not obvious and I remember a few debates as to what the word literally meant.  The school newspaper even had an article on the word once where the author attributed the word to horse dung.  The article about ‘yeat’ from the online Urban Dictionary doesn’t mention horses though.  Has anyone else heard of this slang word?   

Stay tuned.  The next post will have more of Crafty Christina‘s Soley Granny Squares Hats!

Read Full Post »