Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 15th, 2008

This is the product of my first thread crochet stint way back in February 2007.  My Grandma graciously gave me her thread crochet hook collection when I told her I had a project in mind, but no supplies.  Not only did she donate her steel crochet hooks to my craft cause, she gave me some of her stashed crochet thread to get started. 

I made a bunch of bookmarks from that thread and as a thank you I sent her one of the them.  This is how my Grandma keeps the bookmark today, hung over her lamp.  I snapped a pic when I visited her in December.   

I don’t think I’m the thread crochet type.  The tiny string makes it hard to keep the right tension, especially the shiny kinds.  Even if I personally don’t absolutely love thread,  I still ‘ooh’ and ‘aah’ at the multitude of doiles harbored on Flickr.  I guess I’m a prime canidate for those doily baby blankets.

The pattern for the Columbine bookmark above is currently unavailable as far as I can tell.  Every link I try has a “Oops!  Error” slogan.  Lucky me, I have a copy from those luxurious days when my printer still worked.  There was another bookmark I made at the same time called the Star Flower.  The pattern for that is available at Craft Bits (thank you Ravelry pattern search!)

I got curious and searched Crochetville for my orignal post.  This was way before I ever thought about keeping a crochet blog and I had just joined the ‘Ville.  You can still see my Crochetville post from way back when, complete with original fuzzy bookmark pictures.  I got a kick out of revisiting the post and believe it or not, Riohnna was the first comment!

*That’s cool* a random fact

Mick Jagger wanted the part of Dr. Frank N. Furter in the film verion of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Read Full Post »