Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 7th, 2008

I’m doing a little blog housekeeping with my FOs from 2007.  These are my two last Soley Granny Square Hats of the half dozen I crocheted.  More of the same, I know, but I never did get tired of making them.  In case you didn’t read my earlier posts on the subject, I made these with scraps as part of a stash-busting goal.

   

 

I like that the granny hats look like they are levitating in the photos.  There’s a yarn ball under them for shape but it didn’t really show up in the picture. 

This green hat was made with RHSS in mint, white and orchid.  It was the very last hat I made and I got lazy with changing colors.  Weaving in the ends from the circle center was my least favorite part because it was easy to distort the spokes.  For that reason I used purple for the first two rows.  Compared to the other two hats I made with the circular start I think it would have looked better if I put a separate color for the first round.  It will have to do though, because I am not going back to fix it!

*That’s cool* a random fact

The Purple Earth Theory suggests that ancient microbes used retinal instead of chlorophyll on early Earth, making organisms appear purple instead of green.

Read Full Post »