Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 4th, 2008

 

Ever try the Jacob’s ladder stitch?  I just learned how with the St Maurus Headwarmer by Christina.  Basically you make a bunch of chains across the piece as you crochet in rows.  Then you come back and pull through the loops consecutively.  Christina has a great tutorial along with the free pattern on her site. 

I remember seeing a rainbow blanket in Candi Jensen’s Candy Blankies: Cuddly Crochet for Babies & Toddlers that used the Jacob’s ladder stitch.  I think it was called Rainbow Bright.  There were multiple colors and coupled with the stitch it was really pretty.  I took that idea and tried different colors on my second attempt.  I’m not sure I like the color combo but it was interesting to see how the “V” of the ladder stitch looked next to another color. 

The Jacob’s ladder stitch is slanted on this multi-colored one.  This is probably because I didn’t turn the rows and just added the new color at the beginning of the row.  Also, I pulled the loops from the top to bottom instead of bottom to top.  See the upside-down single crochet stitches? 

I haven’t sewed the buttons on yet; I have a phobia of non-crochet assembly.  I swear I will dig out a needle and thread soon and plaster a button on these headwarmers!  In the meantime I have to say that even buttonless these headwarmers are great.  I tried the pink one outside last night when the wind was really strong.  I’m happy to report that my head was far from cold and my ears felt nice and cozy. 

Read Full Post »